MPC Executive Committe.jpg (Photo).jpg

Meet the Team

The Malta Paralympic Committee is adamant on ensuring the long-term sustainability of Paralympic Sport in Malta & Gozo. Pursuant to this objective, the Executive Committee is establishing a robust organisational structure rooted in inclusivity and diversity that draws upon an array of experience and expertise from across a whole spectrum of backgrounds. In this way, the Executive Committee, together with the Athlete's Council and its Sub-Committees, understands the needs of the sporting community.




Prof. Joseph Grima



Dr Julian Bajada

Secretary General


Simon Zammit



George Vella



Vladyslava Kravchenko

Athletes' Representative

Carmen 2.jpg

Carmen Borg

Members and International Relations

Team work

Athletes Council

The Para-Athletes’ Council is the collective voice of Para-Athletes, acting as a consultative body providing advice, feedback and support to the Executive Committee of the MPC, ensuring that the interests of Para-Athletes are placed at its epicentre. The Para-Athletes' Council meets regularly to discuss the challenges and opportunities for Para-Athletes and to propose solutions.The Para-Athletes' Council is currently composed of:

  • Vladyslava Kravchenko (Chairperson, Para-Archery, Para-Swimming)

  • Noel Aquilina (Vice-Chairperson, Wheelchair Basketball)

  • Darren Fenech (Para-Athletics)

  • Antonio Flores (Para-Athletics)​

  • Thomas Borg (Para-Swimming)

  • Stephen Fenech (Wheelchair-Dancing)

High Fives
Laptop and Notebook

Research, Policy & Education

The Research, Policy and Education Sub-Committee has been entrusted by the MPC to carry out research so as to identify the present level of involvement and commitment of the various stakeholders in local Para Sport. Through this research, MPC will be able to understand better the challenges faced by physically impaired individuals and the various service providers (schools, associations, clubs) so as to be well-equipped to formulate an effective and cost-efficient Para Sport policy for Malta and to make informed decision-making. To enable it to fulfil its mission, this Sub-Committee will be launching nationwide surveys, hold meetings with parents, Heads of Schools and P.E. teachers, amongst others. It will also be working closely with higher education institutions and other local experts in the field to ensure that inclusion meets excellence. This Sub-Committee is composed of:


Prof. Aaron Casha


Prof. Joseph N Grima



Mr Tonio P Agius, M.Sc.(Edin.) MMAP

Dr Claire Lucille Azzopardi Lane, Ph.D.

Mr Ivan Esposito, M.D.(Melit.), FRSC(Eng.)

Dr Cynthia Formosa, M.Sc.Pod.(UK),Ph.D.,D.Pod.,S.R.Pod.,FFPM,RCPS (Glasg.)

Dr Andrew Decelis, B.Ed. (Hons) (Melit.), M.Ed.(Melit), Ph.D(Brist.)

Dr Alfred Gatt, M.Sc.(Pod.),Ph.D.,D.Pod.,S.R.Pod.,M. Pod.A. 

Prof. Milosh Raykov, B.A.(Hons),M.Sc.,Ph.D.(Tor.)

Dr Anabel Sciriha, B.Sc. (Hons) (Melit.), M.Sc., Ph.D.(Melit.)

Mr George Vella (MPC Vice-President)